Paintings, Mid-November

I’m sorting and overpainting and framing and discarding — and sometimes actually finding a gem or two among the piles of painted boards. Here’s one I rescued. It was painted during our trip to eastern Oregon, summer, 2008, when we stayed in Mitchell.

This is the overlook just down the road from our B&B.

ochocosw

The Ochoco Mountains from Mitchell, Oregon, 12 x 16″, oil on board

When I evaluate this from the photo, I want to tone it down, pull in that rain that was coming at me from the far horizon. In fact, if I’m remembering correctly, the first draft of this painting got rained on. But fixing the time to stop time and make it the time of the painting — well, that takes time….

This next is from last Friday, when friend Jane and I went again to the Hawthorne Bridge, this time on the upstream side.  We were again using the I-5 overpass as protection from the rain, but then it didn’t rain, just stayed a bit gray. So I moved out into a grassy area, where the bicyclists from the Esplanade wouldn’t run me down, and painted this. I was trying to reverse the temperature, making the primary light cool and the shadows warm.

i-5athawthornebridgewThis is actually a revised version; you can see the first if you go to “more.” Sheila pointed out a fatal flaw in the first version, so I had to go back in.

I-5 at the Hawthorne Bridge, 12 x 16″, Oil on board

–June

So here is the original. And below it is the same image as appears in the main part of the text. I thought you (some of you, anyway) might have fun looking to see what changed. I find it impossible to make one change without having to reconsider the entire canvas. At least in this case. –June

i-5hawthornebridgew

i-5athawthornebridgew1

This entry was posted in Art, commentary, eastern Oregon, landscape, Mitchell Oregon, painting, Portland, representative and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Paintings, Mid-November

  1. Sheila says:

    I thought you’d lightened things up, but wasn’t sure if it was due to photography glitches or actual painting. Glad for your healthy attitude about showing your work. I often feel the same way – never hurts to have a second (or third or fourth) pair of eyes giving input.

    Like

  2. june says:

    Sheila,
    Better my friends spot the unwanted Bigfoot than the gallery curator, right?

    Actually, someone once complimented me on my “courage” in showing work that could have various bumps and bruises that weren’t totally right. But it isn’t courage — it’s information gathering. I suppose if I were a traditional art student, in a group of competitive egos, I would operate differently. But I have nothing to lose by the accidental green giant, whatever he’s called.

    Thanks. And by the way, while I was at it, I toned down the Ochoco Mountains with a bit of fog.

    Like

  3. Sheila says:

    I was hoping I wouldn’t offend. But you know how it is – sometimes you just SEE things that wouldn’t occur to others, and then once it’s out, that’s ALL you can see. You’ve tamed the giant well…or was it Bigfoot dripping in rainforest moss? VBG

    Like

  4. June says:

    Aaargh, Sheila, you are right. I’m going directly to the studio and get rid of him. Luckily he’s only paint.

    Like

  5. Sheila says:

    Is that the Jolly Green Giant lurking in the trees?

    Like

  6. Jay Hoffman says:

    June:

    That light post reminds me of Van Gogh.

    Like

Leave a Reply

