An Abstract — One-off

I do a lot of what I think of as “one-offs.” These are experiments, or studies, paintings which I come to like but which I might not follow up with another using the same style or method. I’m never sure whether something I do will result in more at some later time, but right now, I have some “one-offs” that I am hanging on to.

Below is a One-off Abstract, named Canyon, for reasons explicable only to my unconscious. Which means I can’t tell you why. I can tell you that it is composed of very thin layers and layers of transparent oil paints. This is a very old approach, very much favored in the Renaissance, because it gives the colors a faint glow, a depth that nothing else produces.

It can only be done with completely dry surfaces, so each layer has to dry before the next is put on. This isn’t as bad as it used to be because the alkyd medium that I use dries faster than linseed oil. But it still is a slow evolution. And sometimes the product isn’t what I had hoped for, through all those slow applications.

With all that in mind, here is Canyon. 12 x 16, oil on board.

canyonwAnd happy Thanksgiving, everyone. While you are reading this, I probably will be tidying the studio, hoping my guests will show interest in what I’ve been doing.

Of course, I have oodles to be thankful for, including the chance to show my work on this blog. If a tree falls in the forest and no one hears……….   –June

This entry was posted in Art, non-representative, painting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to An Abstract — One-off

  1. Carole UK says:

    I enjoy your paintings every day and the stories of the places and people you meet. This looks like an ice cave to me. The colours are fabulous, well worth the effort. Thank you.

    Like

  2. Del says:

    WOW! This is really a winner – I love it! All the glowing color, as though there are lights inside. Then the one oval spot of light deep in the canyon to give it more depth. Awesome.
    I’m with Carla, sometimes you leave me breathless. I admire your art very much. Love, Del-in-the-desert

    Like

  3. June says:

    Ah, shucks, Carla, it’s so good to know you are out there. Our blog makes me feel part of a larger community, which is really good!

    Like

  4. Carla says:

    This blog is one of my daily reads. I love the photos and paintings of places I have been and loved. I am sometimes overwhelmed by the knowledge and energy conveyed.

    I am thankful for this daily dose beauty and fun.

    Like

Leave a Reply

