Paintings Reserved from the Great Basin (i.e.Beatty Nevada)

Having refused to accept Jer’s recommendation for which painting to reserve from the Pine Creek collection, I must tell you that he got to choose two of the Beatty/ Amargosa Plain paintings to bring home. And they were both ones other people yearned over, which tells you what good taste he has (not to mention what good paintings I manage to muster <snort>)

His first was one of the earliest I did, a plein air painting from the Red Barn that served as my studio:

southfromredbarnw

South from the Red Barn, 12 x 16″, oil on board

The second was also painted plein air, about half a mile west of the Red Barn, toward Death Valley. Jer dropped me off on a gravel path, so I could catch the early sun on the Bullfrog Hills. In February, that sunrise colors the hills brilliantly and then lets them slip almost to oblivion by mid-day.

I painted squarely in the middle of the road, leaving just enough room for the one car that traveled it to slip by. And then, I turned east to trundle back to the Red Barn and found I had to paint the Backside of Bonanza Mountain, which hovers over the Barn. I mention this second work only because when I got home that evening I discovered that I had been standing in some sort of insect nest and had gotten a couple of inches of itchy welts around both ankles. Thereafter, I moved around a lot more when I was plein air-ing: we must suffer to be beautiful, said Mr. Yeats.

bullfroghillswThe Bullfrog Hills, 12 x 16″, oil on board

By the way, the Pine Creek painting, the Cammal General Store, that Jer lusted after has been sold. Someone who saw it on the blog wanted to buy it, and my wise classmates decided a check in hand was worth any number of possibilities at auction. So it will return to Portland, and another nice check will be deposited to help some kid go to college. Good vibes, all round. –June

This entry was posted in Art, Death Valley, Goldwell Open Air Art Museum, landscape, non-representative, painting, Pennsylvania, Pine Creek Businesses, Red Barn at Rhyolite and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

