The Columbia Gorge: a day of painting

We went off to the Columbia Gorge, to Rooster Rock, on Saturday, Jer to photograph and I to paint with the plein air group.

The early part of the painting day was foggy and cold:

ColumbiaRiverAMPhotow

Naturally, that’s when I began my painting. About half way through the process, it turned gorgeous and sunny:

ColumbiaRiverSunPhotoW

Too late, said I:

ColumbiaRiverMorningFogWThe Columbia River, Morning Fog, 12 x 16″, oil on board, 2009.

This is quite a contrast to the heavy buildings and equally heavy foliage I’ve been painting around Portland. Another painting I did at the Gorge that day can be found in the continuation. –June

ColumbiaRiverSailboatWColumbia River Sailboat, 12 x 16″, oil on board, 2009.

I’m practicing water and skies, hoping to find ways to paint the desert. There are certain similarities.

This entry was posted in Art, Columbia Gorge, landscape, painting, plein air, representative and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Columbia Gorge: a day of painting

  1. Sheila says:

    Ah plein air – the point, I understand, is to work fast before the light/weather changes! I suspect I wouldn’t do well with that.

    Love the sailboat. Like the foggy morning too. Very impressionistic.

    Like

Leave a Reply

