Mt Tabor Centennial Celebration

Mt. Tabor, our neighborhood volcano (extinct) has launched its centennial celebration. I’ve been involved because I’m part of a plein air group, one of whose members is honchoing a big paint-out during next weekend. But we all started early, last Saturday to be exact, and I’m hoping to paint at least 3 times during this week. Next weekend, on Saturday August 1 at 10 AM, I’ll be demo-ing painting in oils, somewhere near the tennis courts and pavillion, I suspect. I will also have some paintings in the art exhibit tent at the Fest.

So to get an early start, I painted two paintings this Saturday. I have since touched these up, but the photos presented here is the paintings as they were pulled off the canvas, wet oils and all:

MtTaborCelebration1W

Mt Tabor Centennial 1, 12 x 16″, Oil on board, 2009

MtTaborCelebration2WMt Tabor Centennial 2, 12 x 16″, oil on board, 2009

These paintings owe a debt to Emily Carr, a stunning artist of the forests of British Columbia, as well as a wonderfully eccentric person. She is the only painter I can name who captures the awesome fearfulness and glory of the Pacific Northwest forests. I was channeling her as I painted. I’m hoping she’ll stick around for the rest of the week and particularly for the demo, when I will need all the help I can get. –June

This entry was posted in Art, Art exhibit, landscape, painting, plein air, representative, southeast Portland and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Mt Tabor Centennial Celebration

  1. Sheila says:

    These are SO awesome! I’m drooling, yes I am. Put me in your will; put my name on these paintings. 😉

    You picked quite a week to plein air it. Don’t forget your water bottle and an umbrella for shade even with the early a.m. start times!

    Like

  2. june says:

    Thanks, guys. I went back to the park Monday and then again today — today I was there at 7:30 AM. It wasn’t bad in the park — at 7:30 AM. Now I’m home and it’s about 85 degrees.

    Del, you might like to know that it got up to 103 yesterday at the airport, and is supposed to be hotter today and tomorrow. That’s why 7:30 seemed appropriate, if painful. Not as painful as later in the day.

    So I’ll have to post more of these trees. It’s going to be all trees, all week. I’ve got a map and a list!

    Like

  3. terry grant says:

    A fine tribute to emily carr. These are wonderful.

    Like

  4. Del Thomas says:

    You are channeling Emily very well. Beautiful trees. Wish I were there to visit you during your plein air session at Mt. Tabor. Love, Del

    Like

  5. Gerrie says:

    I love these trees. I hope to get the family to come up this week-end. We can walk up from Steph’s house. Mia is at art camp all week. I can’t wait to see what she does!

    Like

Leave a Reply

