Mt. Tabor Centennial, Monday’s Paintings

Jer is overloaded with Wikipedia work (and perhaps uninspired due to the heat). I, on the other hand, have been painting and can’t wait to show you what’s happening. So here are the Monday paintings from Mt. Tabor, which is holding its Centennial Celebration next Saturday. Painters were swarming over the mountain on Monday. Lots of walkers and talkers, too. I came home with a handful of business cards and the memory of one young woman who made me feel so good that I’m thinking of saving a painting for her. I hope I see her at the official proceedings.

Here’s a site photo, taken somewhere in the middle of the second painting:

BigMaplebyStairsPhotoW

At the bottom of this long,curved flight of stairs leading to the very top of the hill, I sat in the middle of the road and painted. This isn’t as dangerous as it sounds — cars are forbidden beyond the parking lot just below that curve in the road. A Park truck did have to slide by me, but I made room and he was patient.

The first painting was of two doug firs (officially known as the “coast” douglas fir) and a big leaf maple. And small vine maple in the sunshine  that positively captivated me.

mtTaborCelebrarion3WMt Tabor Celebration 3, by the Stairs to the top, 12 x 16″, oil on board, 2009

I think I need to tame the color on the douglas fir bark a bit (the two trees on the right). In reality, they are duller, more sombre, and much more aloof. The doug firs lose their lower branches as they grow and so when full grown, they are magnificent but a bit beyond human scale. They seem to be the dominant tree in the Park and account for its gloming beauty.

mtTaborCelebrarion4wMt Tabor Celebration 4, at the stairs, 12 x 16″, oil on board, 2009.

A woman who was  training for some kind of ultra-ultra ran up these stairs and back down. Then she ran up again, and back down. She did this five times and by the last time she stopped panting and red-faced, we were old friends. We talked about this tree, which has the appearance of having grown out of a nurse tree. It’s a maple, and I never heard that they had such a growth pattern, but the bottom is huge and gnarled and rounded and out of its massiveness grew large limbs. We both felt a kinship with the tree.  After finishing the painting I patted the tree trunk for sheer tactile pleasure.

I think I need to darken the steps a bit on this last piece as well as dull out the doug firs bark a bit. But these are photos of the pieces as they were finished by 12:30 on Monday. –June

This entry was posted in Art, landscape, Mt Tabor, painting, plein air, Portland, representative, southeast Portland and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

