A Day without Photos is a Day without a Camera

I’m in deep doo-doo. Last night, as I was putting away my camera with my sweaty slimy hands, it slipped, fell on the floor, and is now defunct. This is the third digital camera I’ve had; I dropped two of them, which tends to kill them, and one simply stopped working when I didn’t use it for a while. (And no, it’s not the batteries).  So I can’t show you the paintings I did on Tuesday. I can’t even show you the painting I did today in the 105 degree heat (although I was under deep shade at Mt Tabor Park, so it was perhaps only 100 degrees).

But tomorrow, after my shift of plein airing at the Park again, I am going directly to Pro Photo, in the hopes that they will have a camera similar to the one I dropped last night that I can buy. I checked the web, but I want the camera NOW. I need the camera NOW. Please  send good thoughts to Pro Photo through the ether, asking that they will stock what I want and won’t strip my bank account naked for it. A naked bank account is a bad thing. A broken camera is a disaster.

Well, the heat makes me exaggerate a little. It isn’t really a disaster — more like seriously annoying.

But here are two photos from the archives that might bemuse you:

HarveyScottWHarvey Scott, Portland’s very own chauvinist pig and editor of the local paper at the turn of the 19th century — immortalized and well decorated by birds as he stands  at the peak of Mt. Tabor Park. I’m still thinking of painting him. His sister, Abigail Scott Duniway, for whom a park and a school is named, was a suffragist at the same time her brother railed against ignorant and arrogant women who refused to stay home and cook for him.

And this photo is for all Portlanders and others around the country during this July moment of our trials and tribulations in the heat:

SnowW

If you average last Christmas’s 10 day snow/ice storm with this summer’s incredible heat, you come out to something that looks rather normal for a Portland year. Are you consoled?

–June

This entry was posted in Mt Tabor, Photography, Portland, southeast Portland and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Day without Photos is a Day without a Camera

  1. June says:

    Thanks guys, for appreciating the snow. The Oregonian today ran all the bad weather news — from last winter. It was sort of refreshing. More refreshing still, though, was that it didn’t start to really heat up until after 2, when I finished painting today.

    Thanks, Susan, for the info about the camera too. We decided to get it repaired as well as to get a new one. A back-up sounds good, particularly as I needed to take a picture about 4 times between the time I dropped it (9 PM) and bought another (3PM the next day). I had used the old one so hard that I basically wiped out the serial numbers; the clerk who was trying to read them was impressed.

    Like

  2. Sheila says:

    The snow picture is very refreshing! We have not had your extreme temps but even so, the house is hot and it is no cooler outside yet, so I swelter but feel cooler for the winter scene.

    They WILL have your camera, they WILL have your camera…

    Like

  3. Del Thomas says:

    I remember years there was deep snow and years of severe heat and drought – maybe in fifty years it all evens out. I prefer a 70 degree day 365 days a year. Guess I was a feminist in the 50s, I remember Abigail, but complete overlooked her chauvinist brother. Hope you can repair your camera so you will have a spare! Love, Del

    Like

  4. Carla says:

    Remembering the snow puts a different perspective on things. I think I would still prefer the snow.

    Like

  5. I dropped my camera and decided to send it to the Canon people. They fixed it for a small cost and it is as good as new now. You might try having the dropped one repaired.

    Like

Leave a Reply

