From the Diamond Grade, #7 and The Whole Schmeel

Here lies the final panel of the seven-panel, From the Diamond Grade, panorama. For more information, check the previous 3 blogs on this site. Also the Continuation where I’ve added a bit of text.

DG7FixedAuto2w

From the Diamond Grade, 7, 16 x 12″, Oil on masonite, 2009

Here it is with its partner, #6:

DG67AutobrightWFrom the Diamond Grade, 6 & 7, 32 x 12, Oil on masonite, 2009

And here’s a larger set:

DG567FixedAutoBrightWB

From the Diamond Grade, 5, 6, & 7, 48 x 12″, Oil on masonite, 2009

And here, just as a reminder, are the first 4 panels:

DG1234LevelsWFrom the Diamond Grade, 1, 2, 3, & 4,  Oil on masonite,  2009

If you check out “more,” you can see the entire panorama, albeit in greatly reduced imagery. I couldn’t resist adding a bit of text, also  –June

DG1234567LevelsBrightWBFrom the Diamond Grade, 112″ x 12″, Oil on masonite, 2009.

My hope was to capture not just the panorama, but something of the changing light from AM to PM. The panels on the left are early morning (6:30 AM) views. As the panels progress, so does the time, through the flat light of middle day, until panel 5, when the light starts shifting to evening light — different in temperature, different in direction. The last panel was done about 5:30 PM, when I rushed off to get dinner.

I have my priorities. Dinner at the Hotel Diamond is family style, served promptly at 6:30 PM, and the  dining chairs are relatively close. Painting on the open desert, with sun screen and bug repellant and barrier cream (to prevent toxic oil paints from penetrating my skin), not to mention sweat and dust, meant a shower was probably a prerequisite to getting served (I had no desire at that point to test the requirement).

This panorama is a trial run, done in 3 days of plein air painting at different times of day, for a month of painting in Beatty, Nevada, at the Goldwell Open Air Museum’s Red Barn, where I hope to do something similar, only on canvas and with sizes of 4 feet wide and 5 feet high — at least 5 of them. Although 7 might be better.

This entry was posted in Art, Diamond Oregon, eastern Oregon, landscape, painting, plein air, representative and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to From the Diamond Grade, #7 and The Whole Schmeel

  1. Jef GunN says:

    Hi June,
    finally got around to looking at this. Looked great out in Diamond, now very complete and together. A good running start on the Amargosa, though that desert and larger canvases will pose more challenges. Good luck with it.

    Jef

    Like

  2. june says:

    Thanks, all. Already I’m getting anxious about the Beatty project — it’s what keeps me on my toes. I’m waiting for the new canvas to arrive so I can check out how it takes paint. And I’ve found a number of strategies to put paint on with some savings in cost — at least I think I have. But I’m worried that this is a bit too mundane and so I’m also trying to suss out the Void that is the Mojave Desert (much less to see there than in these paintings) and make large canvases work.

    Ah well, if I didn’t have a slightly scary project, I wouldn’t be me.

    Like

  3. Jay Hoffman says:

    June:

    Wow! Such ambition – and pulled off so well. Look forward to your upcoming triumph in Beatty.

    Like

  4. Sheila says:

    Boy, I can see why you’ve been so excited about this. What a cool concept, and one that looks like you’ve executed quite effectively. It would be wonderful to see it in person.

    Like

  5. Del Thomas says:

    I should have read your blog first! Beatty – I knew it started with a B, anyway. Your panorama has such depth with the addition of #7 – it all gives me the feeling of the high desert with the gritty foreground and the vast distances beyond that reach out to the horizon. Seems like they might just go on for thousands of miles beyond the edge. Love it. Del

    Like

Leave a Reply

