Wheeler (Oregon) Panorama, to the South

I didn’t do as much to the view south at Wheeler as I did to the view to the north, so the changes aren’t so dramatic. But I think it works a bit better even without the large changes. I toned down the colorful islands a bit, and I began imagining the last of the fog rolling off the hills behind Wheeler, as it so often does at the coast.

So here is Wheeler South:

WheelerSouth1Draft2wWheeler South (1), 12 x 16″, oil on masonite, 2009

WheelerSouth2Draft2WWheeler South (2), 12 x 16″, oil on masonite, 2009

And here’s this horizontal panorama, cobbled together in Photoshop because I was too lazy to go out and take another photograph.

WheelerSouthPanoDraft2w

Wheeler South Panorama, 12 x 32″, oil on masonite, 2009

All five of the Wheeler paintings were changed, for the better, as a result of the comments in Sunday’s critique session. I had to invent a little, since the surf really was not visible from where I was painting. But if I’d been a bit further up the hill, or if the tide has been a bit higher, who knows: someday I’ll have to go back to Wheeler and check it out.  –June

This entry was posted in Art, landscape, Oregon Coast, representative, Wheeler Oregon and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

