Panel #1, The Unoriented Desert

I am going to post a single panel of my paintings, one every other day, until I’ve completed the set of seven. I may have to include some  photos of other things that I can’t resist showing.  But the main object of this set of posts is to get through the panels with some semblance of sanity. After I’ve shown each panel, I may even have some combos to lay out for you how they look together. We’ll see.

There’s a possibility that one of the Goldwell Open Air Art Museum’s Directors, David Lancaster, will be able to professionally photograph the art this week. In that case, the images I present could get much better. What I will show here was done with a point and shoot, worked over a bit with Photoshop Elements.

The Unoriented Amargosa, panel #1 (east), 4′ x 5′, oil on linen, 2009

And I don’t want anyone to point out that by naming this as the easternmost panel, I have oriented the scene. I already know that –snort–

Here’s what came to visit when I was playing my flute (instead of painting) on Monday the 30th. I think she was congratulating me (on what, we won’t conjecture). I have included two photos, one so you can see the critter and the other so you can see her against the mountains.

Amargosa Dragonfly

Amargosa Dragonfly, November 30, 2009.

–June

This entry was posted in Amargosa Desert, Art, Goldwell Open Air Art Museum, landscape, painting, pentatonic flute, Red Barn at Rhyolite, Red Barn Studio and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Panel #1, The Unoriented Desert

  1. june says:

    Thanks, Irene.

    Like

  2. irenegeller says:

    Hi there; I like how you used focus in this panel and especially in #2- it seems like small, sharper details pop against the blurry background. Cool 🙂

    Like

  3. June says:

    Gee, shucks. gosh. Thank you.

    Your blog got Jer and I both laughing uncontrollably. Altogether too accurate about T-day, I’m afraid. And do you think Sam will dare to try another family dinner at Christmas?

    Like

  4. Jan says:

    the painting is aMAzing

    Like

Leave a Reply

