Un-Oriented Amargosa, Panel #5

Un-oriented Amargosa, Panel #5 (west), 4 feet x 5 feet, Oil on linen, 2009

By the time I was doing the final work on this panel, I realized that I had the beginnings of great “V’s” and inverted “V’s” across the panels. This is the only one on which the inverted “V” is almost wholly contained — the others reach across two more more panels. These Basin “V’s” helped me make some sense of what I was going to do with color and horizontality, which otherwise felt chaotic.  It also allowed me to keep the horizontals while providing a bit of movement. Unfair, I know, but the movement is more like a dance than a goal. We aren’t getting anywhere with it. Except to the next panel, perhaps. –June

This entry was posted in Amargosa Desert, Art, Goldwell Open Air Art Museum, landscape, painting, Red Barn at Rhyolite, Red Barn Studio and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

