Update: Dec. 11, 2009, 1 PM

We made it. With time to spare. Jer’s insistent amygdala anxiety kicked in at 2:35 AM, he got up and said, “let’s go,” I robotically obeyed, and we traveled home to Portland, arriving somewhere around 8 AM. Wierd, weird, weird because of the dark early morning hours, but clear roads and almost no traffic.

So we are safe home. The heat did not fail (one has myriad anxieties) and we don’t think any pipes burst, although in the to-be-renovated downstairs bathroom, the pipes are frozen. We won’t know if they’ve sprung a leak until they thaw — in however many days. In the meantime, however, all systems are doing well. Lily-the-contractor had organized the plumber to turn the gas back on in the studio and just as soon as I figure out how to reconfigure the system (2:35 AM has a deleterious effect on one’s mental processes), it will work just like advertised.I hope.

But that’s in the studio where I don’t need to go until I regain full faculties.

So everything is here and doing well. It has been suggested that I might need a nap. I think suggestions like that are to be taken very very seriously. –June

This entry was posted in Portland. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Update: Dec. 11, 2009, 1 PM

  1. Sheila says:

    Nighty night – glad to hear you are home safely. My, that Jer and my late husband have a lot in common when it comes to traveling. I remember one holiday trip from Tacoma to SF when I didn’t even get to go to bed as planned. The heck with getting up early, he said. If we’re all packed, let’s go now – as I recall it was around midnight. Guess who got woken up near Salem OR to take over the driving?

    Like

Leave a Reply

