Old Art, New Viewers

For whatever reasons,  this January I seem to be more involved with textiles than with painting. Wendy Vannoy, a naturopathic physician at A Woman’s Time contacted me while I was in Nevada, asking if I had some textile art that I could loan to the organization for a few months.

I have a lot of textiles in storage, so the only question was when. Wendy appeared this week, chose pieces that fit the space (and that she liked), and I sent her off with a large armload of medium and small pieces.

We decided on some groupings. Wendy’s favorite is Where I Live, a piece I did in 2002. It went well with with an earlier piece, Fan and Gingko (2000), as well as one from 2004, Lit from Within.

Fan and Gingko, Where I Live, Lit from Within, 36 x 27″; 34 x 45″; 25 x 34″ respectively. Mostly hand-painted, hand-dyed fabric, machine stitched.

Wendy also picked some bright painted landscapes:

Bright Mountain, 21 x 14.5,  hand painted, machine stitched. 2006.

This one is smaller than any of those pictured above, which always makes me snort a bit. The smaller the piece, the better it looks on the web. The easier the small ones are to finish, the cheaper they are to manufacture (apologies for the crassness), and the less heartrending they are to throw out. And on the web, they appear much much more intricate. Life is full of ironies.

Desert Mountains, 21 x 15.5, handpainted silk, machine stitched, 2006; and Golden Hills, 26 x 15, handpainted cotton, machine stitched, 2006.

These last three were my first forays into desert landscapes, before I decided traditional painting  might just be where I should direct my journey.

I got a phone call from someone today who had seen Golden Hills (which looks much better in real life than as photographed here) at A Woman’s Time. She wanted to know the price, which is $175. Clearly she had expected something like $35, but said she’d talk to her husband. My thoughts ran to plumbers’ $80 an hour fees or even handymen working on the side at $25 an hour and taking six hours to clean the gutters. Inside, I gave a great sigh. But then, it is January; sighs are to be expected. –June

This entry was posted in Art, Portland, quilting, textile and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Old Art, New Viewers

  1. june says:

    Sorry, Jan, about the lack of enlargement. I get into a rut — always set the photos at a single size that (I am told) pops up quickly and doesn’t override any computer screens. I forget that I could use the menu buttons that would allow a large photo if you clicked on it. Using that means I’d have to figure out my sizing techniques again and my wee brain thinks it (brain, not computer) might come to a crash. This size works on my website as well, so it’s like PJ’s, where one size fits all — very comfortable. But I will try to do better.

    And about that plumber — on a daily basis,the art, I think, is much nicer. But when one needs a plumber, the H… with the art –snort–

    Good to hear from you — and Sheila and Del, too.

    Like

  2. Jan says:

    I wish your photos enlarged when I click on them, it is hard to see any detail on the top triple photos. I am especially intrigued by the right side one. I’m glad these are getting to see the light again. Artists get no respect! Your work is the equal of a plumber any day. And much nicer to view.

    Like

  3. Sheila says:

    Your recent desert paintings and your older desert textiles are like night and day. I can see why trying to render what you wanted to render with fabric and stitch (even though some of it was painted) frustrated you.

    It’s nice you are getting these opportunities to show these older pieces. I always think it a shame for art of any kind to lay dormant in a closet (or wherever one stores it).

    Like

  4. DEL says:

    The only one I remember is “Where I Live”! Hope you have a buyer or two or three. I am so fortunate to be able to purchase what speaks to me – usually I can find the money somewhere. Wish there were more appreciaters who could do that. Keep on truckin’! Love, Del w/no rain.

    Like

Leave a Reply

