Hip Replacement 3: AKA

Ready to Roll

By the time you read this, I shall have been sliced, diced, and reassembled, hopefully without complication (Surgery, Tuesday, AM). Jer may or may not have time to add to this blog, but I’m doing it Monday night, thinking that blogging while still groggy with meds might result in infelicities that I could regret.

So, it’s Monday night (although this post won’t show up until Wednesday) and I’m ready to roll.

I have a bed. The all-purpose room, formerly a formal living room, and then a textile studio and occasional gathering place for friends, is to be my bedroom for a while. Our Portland four-square, with its 15  steps and two landing to get upstairs makes being downstairs the only option. Happily enough, the CD player, computer, art station, and bed are all in the same area, with lots of space to spare.

Not elegant but very convenient.

We’ve made arrangements to use Jan’s car, which has four doors and a big back seat that I can fall into, hopefully without violating the first rule of the recovery period, which is no bending at the waist more than 90 degrees forward. While we love our little red Honda, and while it holds all the art supplies needed for a honking big panorama painted in Nevada, alas, it has deeply indented bucket seats that, even pushed way back, still put your knees up to your chest. So Jan’s 1980’s car, with more than 200,000 miles on it, will be far better suited to this particular task.

Finally, friend Janet Lunde, who has an enormous library, and who is indexing it on a website, volunteered to lend me any number of books. I could choose them from her index, which she provided a link to. Oh, my, book lust almost overwhelmed me. So I narrowed the search to fiction/mysteries, and then added a few that she recommended and found a few in other categories, and resisted another 12o0 or so, and the books, in a good Portland tote bag, were personally delivered to our door.

I think these will hold me for a week or two.

So tally ho. I’ll try to persuade Jer to do an addendum to this about my “condition” (“groggy,” “silly,” “whiny,” “sleepy,” “hungry,” “mad as hell.”) But don’t count on it; he might be a bit busy. With any luck, I’ll add another chapter on Friday, perhaps in one of the above moods. –June

Addendum: New hip installed, no complications thus far.  Patient’s condition is heroic.  — Jer

This entry was posted in family, Friends, Hip Replacement Adventures, Our House, Portland and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Hip Replacement 3: AKA

  1. Barbara says:

    “heroic” That sounds like spouce speak for “give me a break”. Please give my love to June.

    Like

  2. janetl says:

    When I read “heroic”, I could hear June snort. ;^)

    Like

  3. Sheila says:

    We’d expect nothing less than heroic from our June! Thanks Jer…

    Like

  4. Carla says:

    Hope all is going well.

    Like

  5. Olga says:

    Happy hippy recovery – and make the most of all those books!

    Like

  6. Del Thomas says:

    Nice to go to sleep knowing that you have heroically undergone the knife and are (surely) on the way to recovering and future marathons.
    Love and hugs, Del

    Like

  7. Lia says:

    I am glad you are posting these updates about your surgery, June! I’m sending you good healing vibes today!

    Like

Leave a Reply

