The St. Johns Bridge Panorama: Panels 6 & 5 plus some

St. Johns Bridge from Cathedral Park, Panel 6. 12 x 24″, oil on masonite, 2010

St. Johns Bridge from Cathedral Park, Panel 5. 12 x 24″, oil on masonite, 2010

People often ask me how long it took to finish a project such as this. Sometimes I know the answer, but often the process is so circular and convoluted, I can’t put my finger on it. For this project, I spent 5 hour painting stretches at the Park, perhaps 6 or 8 of them. I also went back  for smaller amounts of time, did smaller paintings and studies, rehearsed the scene for the panorama, took photos that I hoped would be useful, and simply looked, again and again, at the looming landscape.  I also spent a bit of time lining things up in the studio that had gone askew on the park bench and making colors which I thought I had matched, match better.

So, I would say that I took about a month to get to this stage of the process, not working all the time, but considering working, resting from working, thinking about working, and eating, sleeping, living other parts of my life.

St. Johns Bridge from Cathedral Park, panels 5 & 6, 24 x 24, oil on masonite, 2010.

St. Johns Bridge from Cathedral Park, panels 5,6,7, & 8, 48 x 24″, oil on masonite, 2010.

More to come, of course. The full panorama is 8 times 12″ — 96 inches wide. Oh, and I bumped Jer’s blog photo ’til later in the week in order not to keep Barbara waiting too long <snort> –June

This entry was posted in Art, landscape, oil painting, Portland, Representational painting, St Johns Bridge and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The St. Johns Bridge Panorama: Panels 6 & 5 plus some

  1. June says:

    Barbara, you were a Cheerleader in your youth. Oops, I forgot, you are still a youth. Good yell — how’d the physical routine go

    Like

  2. Barbara says:

    1,2,3, & 4 I want more, more, more!

    Like

Leave a Reply

