The St. Johns Bridge Panorama: Panels 4 & 3

I am always struck by how little I like the photos of my painted work — which is generally different from how I feel about the paintings themselves. The dislike for the photos seems evenly spread across good as well as bad work. I suspect it’s the old problem of the clarity we see in so much of our graphic laden world. Even textile art has neat hard seams and is often composed of commercial, tight-printed fabrics. Whereas paint, particularly my paint, tends toward the sloshy, the slippery, the buttery, the soft-edged, the ambiguous. Well, I could go on, but here’s the art:

St. Johns Bridge from Cathedral Park, Panel 4. 12 x 24″, oil on masonite, 2010

St. Johns Bridge from Cathedral Park, Panel 3. 12 x 24″, oil on masonite, 2010

St. Johns Bridge from Cathedral Park, Panels 3 & 4. 24 x 24″, oil on masonite, 2010

I am also circling the question of how to mount these for presentation — on the assumption that someone besides myself might want to present them. I think they need butted, but maybe with a thin line of black, no more than 1/8 inch, between them. How to manage that with efficiency and ease of transport is a whole ‘nother set of circles.

St. Johns Bridge from Cathedral Park, Panels 3, 4, 5 and part of 6,  about 24 x 48″  inches, oil on masonite, 2010

I didn’t manage to get the whole of Panel 6 into this photo (it’s hard to see the divisions on the little camera screen), but this will give you some idea of where 3 and 4 have gone. –June

This entry was posted in Art, framing, landscape, Portland, Representational painting, St Johns Bridge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The St. Johns Bridge Panorama: Panels 4 & 3

  1. June says:

    Thanks, Sheila. I am going to speak to the undertaking (not the mortuary, though) in the last post. It was essential to re-establishing myself, for myself.

    Like

  2. Sheila says:

    Pretty cool – a worthy subject, a worthy project.

    Like

Leave a Reply

