This Message Has Been Approved by….

Pentatonic Flute (“G”) with bag made from Jan-gifted fabric. Flute by “High Spirits Flutes” and bought in Monument Valley, 2010; fabric brought to Portland from Beijing some years ago. The “bird” or “fetish” (center left) literally this time is a carved bird, labeled “red-tailed hawk.”

Home again, and I am alive and as sane as ever (however that may be). Jer has been posting here because I wasn’t, but today, I think we may (we may…) return to more normal patterns.

So two months of living in borrowed quarters and motel rooms makes one appreciate the small amenities of home — light switches in the right place, finding the bathroom where it belongs in the wee hours of AM, really good apples from the Farmer’s Market, really good cauliflower, etc., from same; the Oregon football team on TV; sufficient and comfy coverings on the bed. All that stuff. Oh, and the toothpaste where it belongs, not in some odd suitcase pocket! Never underestimate the joys of habit.

The pentatonic flute above was my grand treat to myself, bought after our tour guide in Monument Valley took us to a cavernous red rock spot and played his (much larger, key of C) flute. I was in tears (he was playing what he called “The Long Walk“) and I discovered the gift shop in The Views and Gouldings both had pentatonic flutes for sale. The Views (a Navajo owned and run motel/resort) didn’t have the plastic flute straws for trying out the flutes, so I had to buy one from Gouldings, where I tried at least 15 (feeling very conspicuous and self-conscious) before I settled on the one pictured above. It had no bag, so we packed it very carefully. When I got home, the first bag fabric that presented itself as perfect was that which Jan brought me from China, where she traveled a number of years ago.

The flute is bigger than the one I have made by Richard Stephens, bought a year ago in Nevada. The smaller flute (oddly lower in pitch, an “F”) is easier to play, while the big one is higher in pitch and more difficult to manage. But they both work well.

I won’t be able to resist posting a travelogue (if Terry Grant sees it’s right and proper, then I can post one too), but I’ll do that in a couple of days. Or tomorrow, if Jer returns to his old habit of ignoring Southeastmain for more important projects. –June

This entry was posted in Portland. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to This Message Has Been Approved by….

  1. Terry Grant says:

    Beautiful instrument! I do approve of the occasional travelogue and look forward to yours!

    Like

Leave a Reply

