The Studio: tidied, painted, prospects examined

The studio is once again habitable, meaning I can get back to painting. This should improve my mood immensely.

Above is a photo of the wall that needed painting. The splotched “design”, generally speaking, works to keep the space feeling pleasant, and originally I had foam core covered with plain fabric against this wall. The foam core, however, couldn’t bear the weight of heavier canvas and board or anything that was framed, so I took it down. The splotches on the wall were not unbearable, until I tried to sort out the Petrified Forest paintings into groupings. Then, the distraction of the background made the paintings very hard to see, let alone evaluate.

Before I could paint the wall, however, lots of other stuff got done. The Work-in-progress wall, which still has a foam-core board, was tidied. And in the interest of looking intentional, I painted an area right in front of that wall the same darker gray as I painted the other piece of the floor a few days ago — the edges of the rectangle that I painted are shown below, taped.

Finally, the long display wall is finished:

Ahhhh.

Actually Jer did the painting, while I did the prep, the gophering, and the clean-up. I was really happy to have the help and now I can get on with the business of sorting out my groups — and painting the 1/8 inch edges of the boards that were neglected the first times around. –June

For a preview of some of the Petrified Forest groupings, see the continuation.

Here are a couple of the groupings that I’m contemplating. The boards are on the floor in front of the baseboard and the newly painted wall.

This first group works both in color and style. And, interestingly enough, is also allied in content. The petrified wood, to the left, is thoroughly distributed in the Blue Mesa area, where the painting on the right was done. And another bit of Park badlands, called The Teepee, also has the colors of the Blue Mesa and some of the reds of the petrified wood.

The Painted Desert Inn (at the bottom of the grouping above) sits at the edge of the Painted Desert Badlands, the Chinle Formation. The “Inn” is built on solid volcanic rock, dark in color and much younger than the red of the Desert (both seen in the tall painting in back). The painting at the left was done from inside the Painted Desert Inn, looking out at the volcanic formations and the desert.

These groupings were not done on the same day, nor were they intentionally painted to fit together. It’s interesting that the external world sorted itself out so nicely in my own palette and psyche. I have found that 17 of the 18 PEFO paintings work together in groupings such as these.  Painting #18 is one that I think I can chuck out anyway, as it’s the weakest of the lot.

Eventually, I will have these placed on my newly painted wall and you will be able to see them properly. This is just a bit of a preview .


This entry was posted in Studio and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Studio: tidied, painted, prospects examined

  1. June says:

    Gophering is the official term for “go-fer” as in “could you go down to the basement and find the paint opener.” In this context, it mostly meant standing around trying to look helpful while not actually doing anything. It’s a pseudo-Protestant Work Ethic maneuver.

    By the way, I have never seen the ads before on my site, but I suspect you got here via Facebook, which seems to inveigle its money making operations everywhere. But I am going to check it out. I certainly am not making anything off ads by Google!

    Like

  2. janetl says:

    My, you’ve been busy. What does “gophering” mean in this context?

    Like

Leave a Reply

