Barns: Trifles along the way

JOU,  Silo, Eastern Oregon, 16 x 12″, oil on masonite, 2011

This is not a barn, or at least it’s mostly not a barn, but I did it as I was doing the others in the barn series, so I thought it could use posting also. I once wrote a poem about silos. The rejection I got was  memorable; the editor wrote: “this is very nice. It’s not a poem. I don’t know exactly what it is. But it’s not a poem.” Actually the “poem,” called Silos, was eventually published by an editor who didn’t know it wasn’t a poem. This is only to say that while I have less experience with silos than with barns, I do have some history with them, however peculiar.

When I was doing the barn paintings, I was not only thinking about composition ala Thomas Hart Benton (see my  artblog commentary here), I was also absorbed in the color brown.

Barns are brown, and brown, like gray, is a widely varying color made up of complements of colors: red and green, yellow and purple, blue and orange, often with a dab of something else. I mixed a wide variety of browns starting with the complements, using warm and cool versions of both, mixing and matching, and had a large span of brown hues on my palette. The papers pictured above were my test samples.

However, a funny thing about those mixed browns. It is possible that they gave the painting a richer surface (I used them liberally and somewhat indiscriminately except for light and darkness). But I disliked a lot of them intensely. Often they slid out with a sickly yellow cast. It drove me a bit bonkers; Jer said (reluctantly) that that particular draft of the painting was “awfully brown;” and in the end, I resorted to raw umber, with a tad of burnt umber and alizarin crimson when I needed strong brown, and a bit of charcoal gray and ivory black when I needed deep shadow. And I changed out the sickly yellow, whitening or warming it with titanium or red oxide. Muuuuch better.

This is a detail from  Barn Memories:

There are quite a few browns, seen even at this resolution in a small image. But I’m startled by how much I like the detail view. Perhaps there’s a quilted piece to be drawn from this detail. Ta-ta, and so that’s how I find myself going off. Tangents become main stems. I’m sure there are more barns in my future. –June

This entry was posted in barn paintings, landscape, oil painting, painting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Barns: Trifles along the way

  1. Kathy Hodge says:

    I like the idea of using browns “from the tube” because I feel like I am painting with elements from the earth like umbers and siennas, Williamsburg even make browns that feel a bit gritty, which I like. I may try gathering some colors from the earth while, appropriately, in the Painted Desert. I like your detail shot too, could be an interesting painting as well.

    Like

  2. Sheila says:

    Always dangerous when you start cropping photos for detail shots…

    Like

Leave a Reply

