random thoughts, random photos #2

Sam, our grandson,  is fast becoming the go-to expert for the Android OS.  He taught me three things  within 38 seconds of picking up my Toshiba Touch.  It’s lovely  to  have an obsessed fan in the family. I think I need to invite him back soon — and often.

Wolf Hahn asks, “Why paint landscapes? Because it’s where we live.”

Seems about right to me.

Friend Barbara mentioned that she sits in her easy chair reading her Kindle while she checks out map references and other unknowns on her Tablet, sitting on the stand next to her. Now there’s a perfect solution to the all-too-big atlases that I sometimes have to haul out.

Although Barbara did allow as how she often prefers the “wood” version of text to the Kindle version; we both have early Kindles, which are great for text but not so good for maps and images.

It’s a sign of great socializing when all three of my big red Mama Ro cups have to be washed after the guests have left. My favorite people know about these cups, which are just the right size for cuddling the hand, allowing warmth to pervade the conversation. I also had to wash the small version of these big ones, plus about six others. It was open house at the U-woods yesterday.

Why, when it’s been 26 years since I was last in the classroom, does my final dream of the morning involve forgetting to show up to teach a class?

The mind, in all its randomness, is an amazing maze. –June

This entry was posted in family, Friends, landscape, painting, Portland and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to random thoughts, random photos #2

  1. Carla says:

    June, I really enjoy your random thoughts.

    Like

  2. june says:

    Lia, I was surprised this hadn’t occurred to me. But of course, Barbara’s “danger” is all too evident. However, the Multnomah County library now has Kindle-accessible books, so I have no excuses for those instant credit card charges.

    Like

  3. Lia says:

    I always wondered why my co-worker eats lunch with her Nook *and* her smart phone, peering back and forth from one to the other. I guess she is looking up supplemental information for the e-book she is reading.

    Like

  4. Barbara says:

    As the Barbara who is mentioned to have a Kindle in one hand, and a tablet in the other I can now tell you of a danger. It is too easy to go to Amazon.com and order new books to expand on the one you are reading. Way too easy……At least the books I ordered were used.

    Like

  5. Barbara says:

    You are dreaming of forgetting to show up to teach because that was a high stree situation, and you up coming hip replacement is also high stress. I have similar dreams of not having my class schedule and showing up for the wrong class when my stress level is high. Let it go, it will mean nothing when you new hip is in place.

    Like

Leave a Reply

