Saga on SOD, #2: The Function of the Stick

The Stick (aka the cane) is an improvement on The Walker and a rejection, on aesthetic grounds, of a conventional aluminum cane.

Purchased long ago at REI or LL Bean or perhaps some crafty local outlet, the stick once had a tip with a metal point, for hiking through snow and skewering snakes. Portland has no snow, nor any snakes, for that matter. But the stick is good for walking-as-physical-therapy. It also has other functions:

This was sketched on a Toshiba Thrive Tablet with a generic stylus.  After sketching these two items, I purchased two different styluses, the Pogo and the Jot. Both seem superior to the generic one that Toshiba sells with its droid tablet. We’ll see if they improve the sketches any.

Obviously, hope springs eternal. — June

*SOD is “Sketching On ‘Droid” — I rather like the sound of the abbreviation.

This entry was posted in Hip Replacement Adventures, Portland, sketching and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Saga on SOD, #2: The Function of the Stick

  1. june says:

    Margaret, I’m working up to handwritten text on the image. The stylii (?) or the reactivity of the screen or the operator is (are) too crude for my text to be readable at the moment. But I keep searching for a way to do what I see others doing in an apparently casual manner. Stay tuned:-)

    Like

  2. margaret says:

    Your droid drawings make me want to do it too – it looks like so much fun! I like the results you’re getting. Adding text is interesting … but I feel the text should be “hand written”, or scratched through the “paint”, or something…. Media makes muddle of much….

    Like

  3. june says:

    Thanks, Carla. I almost got a walking stick at the coast last winter, but couldn’t find the clerk to buy one. They are nifty looking.

    And with those shoe shaped tips, you could really stomp on snakes. Or at least pretend to be threatening:-)

    Like

  4. Carla says:

    Love this post. I have several canes (sticks) and have been known to use them for who knows how many things. Like you, I scoff at the aluminum, make me look infirmed ones. My two favorites are ones I special made for me, one of rosewood and the other of poplar (I think). They only came out for special events. Now I am working with exercise poles and am thinking of some great uses. I love their little shoe shaped tips.

    Like

  5. june says:

    Thanks, Lia. I’m working hard here, trying to work up some skill with the ‘Droid as well as upgrade my drawing skills. I figured my sense of silly narrative (such a big word for story telling) might overcome my embarrassment about my drawing. As I said, it’s all the ‘Droid’s fault.

    Oh, yeah, I’m also whiling away the time until I can get back to a Big Canvas sitting in the studo.

    Like

  6. Lia says:

    June, I love these posts with the SOD drawings and your wry commentary. Glad to see you’re in good humor and making progress.

    Like

  7. june says:

    Well, Janet, I think I’m impressed. I’m not exactly one for bling — a carved stick seems more appropriate. But those folks are certainly trying.

    Sheila, I like your brother’s style.

    Terry, my mother used to say “they are more scared of you than you are of them.” Since that can’t possibly be true, I doubt that any snake I run across has anything to fear from me. Except maybe a loss of hearing from the screams.

    Like

  8. terrygrant says:

    Don’t even think about skewering my snakes. They are elegant, lithe little creatures that hide in our grass and eat their weight in mosquitoes. As Janet says, they are sneaky, seldom seen, but they are here.

    Like

  9. janetl says:

    There _are_ snakes in Portland. They’re just very, very sneaky.

    My friend Sioux uses a Bling Walking Cane: http://www.bling4canes.com/index.html

    Like

  10. My brother who is recovering from a lower back fracture, has been using an aluminum cane and getting grief from friends and workmates who know he is a woodworker. I’d asked if he’d found a classy cane and he mistook my question as had he MADE himself a cane yet – no, doesn’t really do that kind of wordworking plus couldn’t manage the shop yet. Ok, close enough – I went on the hunt for a cane. Bought one from Stu who gave me the diamond willow walking stick. The brother loves it, saying that he hadn’t seen diamond willow since he lived in MN and, if I was not opposed, he was going to pass it off as his own handiwork for awhile. I could tell the acquisition had perked him right up.

    So yes, aesthetics are SO important, and your stick an improvement. BTW, my other brother asked me if my walking stick had a metal tip. No Stu puts rubber on both cane and walking sticks for some reason. After using it for real, I can see why metal would be better.

    Like

Leave a Reply

