Saga on SOD #4: the Bed, the Books

Aside from the walking aids, the most important objects in my invalided state were/are the hospital bed, parked in the front room, and the books on the table beside it.

The bed, which has been a cosy place to sink into when my energy goes poof, will be returned today. However, the books, like presents not opened, will remain for a while. Not, perhaps, long enough to finish all of them, but long enough, I hope, to reach a state of saturation.

The material on the stand beside the bed includes parts of Sunday’s NY Times, the Toshiba Thrive Tablet (on which the illustration above was sketched) the Kindle (opening currently to Appendix 4 of 1491), a paper back copy of 1491, bought because of the inadequacy of the maps and illustrations on the Kindle, and these books: The Information, by James Gleick, Working Space by Frank Stella, A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius by Dave Eggers, The Miracle Life of Edgar Mint by Brady Udall, A Monstrous Regiment of Women by Laurie King, The Code of the Woosters by P.S. Wodehouse, and Thus Was Adonis Murdered by Sarah Caudwell. These all have bookmarks in them, indicating that I am ambling my way along many different paths of information, mayhem, and silliness.

Stacked carefully on a shelf behind the bed are such delights as Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander, Ann Argula’s Walla Walla Suite, Jasper Fforde’s Thursday Next, Sarah Strohmeyer’s Bubbles in Trouble, Elizabeth Peter’s A River in the Sky, Clyde Edgerton’s Where Trouble Sleeps, and many others. These have not yet been bookmarked; they represent future pleasures.

Most of these books, with the exception of 1491, The Information, and Working Space were lent to me by friend Janet. I fear I lost my pre-surgery caution when she walked me around her bookcases, allowing me to fill cloth bags with books. I may have to schedule another six weeks in bed, just to finish out my reading program.

The “illustration” above, by the way, was done as usual with SketchbookPro on my Toshiba Thrive Tablet;  I just discovered three more screens of brushes on SBP, which either expanded my repertoire or totally mucked up my sense of form and structure. Or both. –June

This entry was posted in Portland. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Saga on SOD #4: the Bed, the Books

  1. Lia says:

    Wow. It’s been a long time since I read or thought about Edgerton’s Where Trouble Sleeps. I remember reading “Send Me to the Electric Chair” and being excited to read the novel based around it… and then feeling like the novel didn’t live up to the promise of the story somehow. I re-read the story after I read your post– don’t have the novel anymore. I’ll be interested to see what you think of The Information– I wrote a review of it earlier this year (probably wouldn’t have made myself read the whole thing if I didn’t think I should get some professional mileage out of it). Now I’m fascinated with computer and information science, digital logic and the connection with human culture, neurology, etc. Still very hard for me, but intellectually intriguing all the same.

    Like

Leave a Reply

