Along the Way, a Puzzle

I seem to be dithering my way through January. However, a friend requested a painting and, after a bunch of dithers (ie emails that accrued to the point of getting their own folder), I hit upon a scheme.

Below are twelve 4″ x 4″ abstract paintings. They are all part of the Scheme. The scheme was to paint a painting, relatively representational, and then break it into these 12 abstracts.

Above is the batch of little abstracts, pulled apart, drying. They are all acrylic paint on silk and canvas.

So, if you are up for a bit of fun, look at the 12 abstracts below and try to figure out what they might represent when put together as a 12 x 16″ rectangle. I’ve numbered them, but they are not in any particular order. The answer (ie the photo of the Whole) is in the continuation.

#1

#2

#3

#4

#5

#6

#7

#8

#9

#10

#11

#12

I have updated the photos, eliminating the dreadful fuzzy ones. My apologies for making your eyes twirl if you looked at the earlier post.

The answer is beyond the fold of the post but no fair peeking. –June

Purple Vase, 16 x 12″, with individual pieces being 4″ x 4″, acrylic on silk and canvas, 2012

So how did you do? And were there any of the little paintings that you detested? or loved? Let me know — curious minds need to know these things………………………….

[The keyholing of the camera lens made for other kinds of photography messes; as judges you get to deduct for that.]

This entry was posted in acrylic painting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Along the Way, a Puzzle

  1. Pretty darn clever, June. I didn’t try to figure it out but love the solution. With the exception of the one of the rim of the vase, they are all interesting on their own.

    Like

  2. margaret says:

    Stand well back, David Hockney! This puts me so in mind of his recent iPad (or whatever) drawings…

    Like

    • june says:

      Ah, Margaret, I love to imagine myself in _that_ company.

      By the way, your finishing products for your course were astonishing. I hadn’t realized what would go into that last push. Whew! What a tremendous amount of work, and how wonderful it all looked (before the judges got rifling through it, that is).

      Like

  3. Patricia says:

    Gee. I thought it was a portrait of me. So so disappointed. Oh well.
    I liked #1 best – it’ mysterious, hints at other things.
    But I’m also crazy about 3, 4 and 9.
    Even though.
    8 is pretty cool also.

    Like

    • june says:

      Thanks, Pat, I’m a bit disappointed that you didn’t recognize your lovely features among the foliage. Ah well, next time:-)

      Thanks for the evaluation, too. I’m taking it all in.

      Like

  4. diane says:

    I was not happy with 7, only because it was split into thirds of too equal proportions….I very much liked 2, 3, 4 and 10, And I figured out we were going toward floral and was quite pleased I was on track when I saw the finished work.

    Like

  5. My favorites are 3, 5, 6, and 12.

    Like

  6. jan2bratt says:

    Before I saw all the pieces put together I was going to guess it was a painting of a vase or pot of calla lilies. Now I see the finished picture and I was a little bit close. More pot than flowers though. I particularly liked #’s 2,5,11 and 12.

    Like

  7. june says:

    Ah, I’m so glad, Cynthia. The first one I did in this manner was inscrutable by everyone, including myself. None of us could put it back together. This time I numbered all the pieces, so I could cheat:-)

    If you remember which abstracts you liked, plunk down their numbers. I’m trying to become a better critic of my own work, and there’s nothing like others’ eyes to help me form good judgments.

    Like

  8. Ha! I did guess correctly.

    All the small paintings have a great sense of movement and life to them with all those lovely flowing curves.

    I loved several of them!

    Like

Leave a Reply

