Source of the Mississippi River

This is from our trip east. It was August, and lots of people were visiting the headwaters of the Mississippi River. The line of rocks that people are crossing marks the boundary between Lake Itasca and the Mississippi River. The river flows north at first before eventually heading south to the Gulf of Mexico. — Jer

This entry was posted in Portland. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Source of the Mississippi River

  1. Pingback: Pet Clothes for Small Dogs

  2. Lia says:

    You could chart my childhood growth by looking at the annual photos of me crossing that line of rocks!

    Like

  3. Jean de Maiffe says:

    I think it’s ironic that I was born and raised in Wisconsin and have gone back to visit many times over the years, but I’ve never been to the headwaters of the Mississippi. I’ve swum in it, waterskied on it, walked along it, sat daydreaming by it, driven up and down it, flown over it and up and down it. But I’ve never gone to the Mississippi’s headwaters. Maybe that should be on my (currently non-existent) bucket list. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

