Our Latest Obsession

Armload of flowers

Jer and I have a renewed interest in photography; I put out much moolah for a Sony a6300 mirrorless camera, and both of us are taking an online, basic camera course from Portland Community College. This has given us a push to learn more photographic skills and to take more photos. And of course, this blog is a great place to show what we’ve learned.

My interests have always tended toward the spontaneous and the narrative. As Garrison Keillor says, “When we grow old, we realize there are no answers, only stories.” And the camera simply adds one more great tool to capture spontaneity and stories.

veggies

This morning’s farmers’ market (Hollywood district for those who know Portland) was my first try at getting photos in and of the public. I was nervous. What if I got yelled at. What if someone took umbrage and grabbed my camera? But farmers’ market people are notoriously friendly, and all I got were smiles and apologies for getting in my way.

generalPhoto

We’ve been going to the Saturday Hollywood market for years, and we’ve gotten to know a lot of the vendors. Our favorite fruit stand, for example, is Fuji’s. Below is one of the workers who regularly woman the stand:

Fuji fruit vendor

People watching is the greatest fun, of course.

LoadingHerBag

 

fishVendor

flowerVendor

The photo above is from the flower stand that I also go to regularly. Their flowers are lavish and they put together bouquets from a vast array of possibilities.

PlenitudeFlowers

You can customize your bouquet and have only one or two flowers in it, you can buy them bundled by the stem, or you can just go with whatever the vendors put together.

MoreFlowerVendors

The last is most cost-effective and fun — I never know until I get home exactly what I have, although the workers generally bring colors together. Today I was going to buy this bundle:

Mybouquet

But by the time Jer got back from veggie buying, that bundle had gone so he picked one that tended toward more daisies and dahlias and sunflowers. Equally good.

Across from the flower stand is the fish guy, who is always cheerful and talkative:

FishVendorClose

And one of the vendors, a young fellow, was all alone at his booth. I can’t remember what he was selling but he had such a pleasant face that I pointed my camera at him. He smiled and this is the result:

Vendor cropped

He looks like someone I ought to know.

jou, July 9, 2016

This entry was posted in Portland. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Our Latest Obsession

  1. jeaniedee says:

    I’ve always loved portraiture. Thank you for sharing. Oddly, the flowers seemed too intense for me. What’s that all about? I don’t know. Your blond young man looks like someone I should know, too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jidaxxxx says:

      I’m not sure why the flowers look too intense to you. Perhaps we need to take a poll. Or maybe my eyes are so tired that they dummy down the intensity. The new camera is pretty good, so that might make the colors more intense. Any way, thanks. And perhaps we both know that fellow from another life:-)

      Like

  2. Kay says:

    Love your artistic and intellectual adventures!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

